Absorbing Matches At Boccia Champs

By Scott Martin

Director of Boccia

The 2016 NZ National Boccia Championships were held from Thursday 6 th – Sunday 9 th October at Papatoetoe High School in Auckland. 21 players from across the country including a trio from Australia participated in pairs, teams and individual competition across the 4 days. Competition was high throughout the tournament with a number of perceived upsets occurring, providing great entertainment for spectators and officials. One of the highlights of the tournament was the Individual BC1,2 gold medal match between Maurice Toon (Waikato) & Corena Sheridan (Australia) which was decided in a tiebreak after the match ended 3-3. Corena took momentum into the tiebreak having secured a single point in the fourth end to lock the score up at 3 a piece. In the tiebreak Corena took control with her first ball and despite his best efforts Maurice was unable to get his remaining balls closer to the jack which handed the gold medal to Corena. Boccia NZ congratulates all the players on their performances throughout the tournament and thanks all the volunteers for their time and effort with refereeing, timekeeping and assisting the players.

Results were as follows:

BC5/Kiwi Pairs:

Gold – Fleur Mann & Khi Chen (Auckland)

Silver – Colin Frude & Matthew Henderson (Wellington)

Bronze – Scott Burdett (Northland) & Kirsten Williams (Auckland)


Gold – Danny Byrne, Corena Sheridan & James Morrison (Australia)

Silver – David Harrison (Wellington), Maurice Toon (Waikato) & Sandra Grey (Auckland)

Bronze – Margaret Thomson (Auckand), Vishal Chandra (Waikato), Marie Henderson (Auckland) & Mark Pattinson (Auckland)

Individual BC1,2:

Gold – Corena Sheridan (Australia)

Silver – Maurice Toon (Waikato)

Bronze – Vishal Chandra (Waikato)

Individual BC3:

Gold – Greig Jackson (Palmerston North)

Silver – Oliver Hill-Parker (Nelson)

Hyran Daymond (Wellington)

Individual BC5:

Gold – Khi Chen (Auckland)

Silver – Thomas Chin (Canterbury)

Bronze – Fleur Mann (Auckland)

Individual Kiwi/Open:

Gold – James Morrison (Australia)

Silver – Scott Burdett (Northland)

Bronze – Mark Pattinson (Auckland)